Comprised of Billy Yost (vocals, guitar), Eamonn Donnelly (bass), Jonny Ifergan (guitar), and Ryan Farnham (drums), Chicago’s The Kickback is the result of the brothers’ emigration to The Windy City from rural South Dakota in late 2009 and a subsequent series of Craigslist pleas seeking out band members. The group’s music has earned them wide praise from Rolling Stone, Sound Opinions contributor Jim Derogatis, You Ain’t No Picasso, the Chicago Tribune, and more. 

The Kickback has toured steadily since moving to Chicago, supporting acts such as White Rabbits, Smith Westerns, Here We Go Magic, Tapes ‘n Tapes, and Telekinesis. They have also been a selection to the South by Southwest music festival for the last four years (all-the-while earning a reputation as a stellar and explosive live act). To document their travels, the band began recording their podcast, DISASTOUR, in December of 2010, and they have now published upwards of 80 episodes. The show attempts to address the far-from-glamorized lives of a band on the road and the arrested development indicative of the lives they have chosen. 

In 2013, the group recorded their debut LP at Public Hi-Fi Studios in Austin, TX with Spoon’s Jim Eno. Tentatively titled Sorry All Over The Place after a footnote in David Foster Wallace’s novel Infinite Jest, the album is set to be released sometime in 2015.

Presenter: 2014